Californian residents like you will be facing a sticky situation if you end up with DUI-related charges. Because of the strictness of California laws, you may be facing down quite a hefty penalty if convicted, even on a first offense. Today, Kucera & Cohen, will discuss some of those potential penalties.
Depending on how many DUIs you have had in the past and the degree of severity of your current DUI, your possible penalties may change. For example, a first offense can land you with up to a $1,000 fine, up to 6 months of license suspension, and up to 6 months in jail. This may seem like a startlingly harsh penalty for a first offense. However, higher offenses are even stricter.
For example, a felony injury DUI conviction can result in up to 16 years in jail with the possibility of 5 years of license suspension. Additionally, fines can reach $5,000. In between, there are tiers for second and third offences. These are punishable by up to a year in prison, up to $1,000 in fines, and 2 to 3 years of license suspension, respectively.
Fourth offenses and on are considered to be DUI felonies, rather than misdemeanors. Additionally, DUI injury cases are treated separately regardless of whether or not it is your first time facing a DUI-related charge. Fourth charges and on may result in up to 3 years in jail, 4 years of license suspension and $1,000 in fines. Injuries are up to 1 year in jail, 1-3 years of license suspension, and up to $5,000 in fines.
If you are currently facing DUI related charges, consider taking a look at our webpage, linked here. You can find more information about what to expect in court, as well as what to expect from a solid DUI defense.